Steering committee

A steering committee sets the political guidelines and is responsible for the overall strategic governance of the Working Group. It comprises one representative of each FriEnt member organisation.

Two chairs are elected by the steering committee and represent it between Meetings. Currently they are Martin Schuldes (BMZ) and Michael Hippler (Misereor).

Member Organisation


Acting Member

Federal Ministry for Economic
Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Dr. Martin Schuldes
Head of Division Peace and Security;
Disaster Risk Management

Markus Kirchschlager
Division Peace and Security;
Disaster Risk Management


Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH


Dr. Kathrin Lorenz

Dr. Stephanie Schell-Faucon

Bread for the World

Silke Pfeiffer
Head of Division Human Rights and Peace 



Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES)

Jochen Steinhilber
Head of Division Global Policy and Development



Misereor / Catholic Central Agency for Development Aid

Michael Hippler
Head of Department Quality Assurance International Cooperation


Dr. Ulrich Füsser
Head of Department Asia

Civil Peace Service Group (CPS)

Bernd Rieche
Action Committee, Service for Peace



Martin Vehrenberg
Deputy Managing Director, AGEH

German Platform for Peaceful Conflict Management /
Institute for Development and Peace (INEF)

Dr. Wolfgang Heinrich
Action Committee Service for Peace


Dr. Cornelia Ulbert
Executive Director, INEF